ENSI Board – new appointments

Andreas Abegg

The Federal Council has appointed Martin Zimmermann as the new Vice Chair of the ENSI Board with effect from 1 September 2019. Prof Andreas Abegg has also been appointed to the ENSI Board.

The ENSI Board is pleased that the appointment of Andreas Abegg will strengthen the committee’s legal competence. Andreas Abegg is professor of public commercial law at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW), lecturer at the University of Lucerne and proprietor of a law firm. He has been heading the Centre for Public Commercial Law at the ZHAW since 2012. His most recent research deals with the legal framework regarding substrate, public enterprises and energy law. The 47-year-old Swiss citizen studied, wrote his doctorate and conducted post-doctoral research at universities in Freibourg (Switzerland) and Frankfurt am Main (Germany). As a visiting researcher in Germany and the USA, he dealt with topics at the interface between society and the state. Prof Abegg’s appointment means that the ENSI Board now has six members.

Martin Zimmermann

A proven nuclear expert and physics graduate from ETH in Zurich, Martin Zimmermann takes over as Vice Chair of the ENSI Board, where he has been a member since April 2017. He gained his experience in the field of nuclear energy and safety during his many years of work at the Paul Scherrer Institute. Martin Zimmermann was and still is internationally active in various committees and has participated as a recognised expert in missions of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA). The appointment of a new Vice Chair had become necessary when Monica Duca Widmer resigned from her office at the end of July 2019, having become the designated Chair of the RUAG Board of Directors.


For further information please contact the Technical Secretariat of the ENSI Board.